New England Weeds Authority

New England Weeds Authority (NEWA), is the registered trading name of The New England Tablelands Noxious Plants County Council.

NEWA is a single purpose Council which is a Local Control Authority for priority and invasive weeds under the NSW Biosecurity Act, 2015. The present area of operation of NEWA is the local government areas of Armidale Regional, Walcha, Uralla Shire, and Glen Innes Severn (under MOU). These Councils are located in the Northern Tablelands region of New South Wales.

The County Council’s governance is in accordance with the Local Government Act 1993 (LGA 1993) with the County Council first proclaimed in 1947.


Phone(02) 6770 3602
Email Contact Us

Latest News

Casual Biosecurity Control Officers - Glen Innes and Armidale

19th Nov 2020
About the role The person will be assisting in the following activities: Roadside Inspections and spraying Weed identification. Assisting with mapping. Benefits and perks The position is a casual position for at least the next 6 months and is based in Armidale. Work may occur in othe...  read more

NEWA Annual Report 2019-2020

20th Oct 2020
The New England Weeds Authority Annual Report 2019-20 was adopted by Council on 20th November 2020....  read more